Kjetil Trædal Thorsen

Title: Art and Aesthetics in Architeture

Kjetil Trædal Thorsen is an architect and Founding Partner of Snøhetta. Since co-founding Snøhetta in Oslo in 1989, he has been instrumental in defining Snøhetta’s philosophy and growth into a transdisciplinary and global architecture and design practice, as well as major projects such as the Bibliotheca Alexandrina in Alexandria, Egypt, the Norwegian National Opera and Ballet, Le Monde Group Headquarters in Paris, Europe’s first underwater restaurant and the world’s northernmost energy-positive building.

For his work, he has been awarded the European Union Prize for Contemporary Architecture – Mies van der Rohe Award, the Aga Khan Award for Architecture and the Global Award for Sustainable Architecture, amongst others.

Kjetil Trædal Thorsen is a frequent lecturer, and from 2004 to 2008, he was Professor of Architecture at the Institute of Experimental Architecture at the University of Innsbruck, Austria. In addition, he often acts as a jury member for international design and architecture competitions and awards, such as the Obel.

Snøhetta is one of 12 offices in the Triennale guild, supporting Oslo Architecture Triennale.


Kjetil will talk during the following dates/times:

Public talk
Sunday April 16
09:30 – 10:00
Concluding Panel Discussion
Sunday April 16
10.00 – 10.45

Thorsens History

Kjetil Trædal Thorsen was born in the Norwegian city of Haugesund, and in 1985 he graduated as Dipl. Ing. Architect from the University of Graz, Austria. The same year he was a co-founder of the first Norwegian gallery for architecture, Gallery ROM.

In 1987 he co-founded the multidisciplinary architectural practice, Snøhetta, and he has been a partner in the company since 1989. Since the creation of Snøhetta, Kjetil has been instrumental in the projects developed by the practice such as the Bibliotheca Alexandrina in Alexandria, Egypt; the New National Opera and Ballet in Oslo, Norway; The SFMOMA in San Fransisco; the National September 11 Memoria Pavilion in NY; the King Abdulaziz Center for World Culture in Dahran, Saudi Arabia; the Lascaux IV Caves in France; and lately the Busan Opera house in Busan.

He is a frequent lecturer internationally, and from 2004 to 2008 he was a professor of architecture at the Institute of Experimental Architecture at the University of Innsbruck, Austria.

Both with Snøhetta and individually he has received numerous prizes including amongst others: Mies van de Rohe Prize – for the Opera and Ballet in Oslo in 2009; Aga Khan Award for Architecture –for the Alexandria Library in 2004; Commander of The Royal Norwegian Order of St.Olav in 2008; International Fellowship Honor from the Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA); Honorary Doctor NTNU, Norway; and Honorary Member of the Norwegian Architects Association (NAL) in 2011.